Guides

Best CBN Gummies for Sleep: Labels and Research Checked

We earn a commission from partner links.

Best CBN gummies for sleep, checked label by label: mg of CBN and melatonin, CBN vs melatonin, CBN vs CBD, and what the research says. Updated October 20, 2026.

October 20, 2026
Updated
Jake Giebel
10 min read

Quick answer

The CBN sleep gummy we could verify is cbdMD's broad spectrum gummy, which lists 20 mg of CBN, 25 mg of CBD, and 5 mg of melatonin per gummy. Diamond CBD sells CBN as a tablet instead. A 2021 review found no trials measuring CBN's effect on sleep with validated tools, so treat any sleep claim as unproven.

Most CBN gummy listings are an ingredient list with a bedtime photo. This page checks what the product pages actually say, which products fit Minnesota's hemp rules, and what the research does and does not show. It is for adults 21 and older and it is not medical advice.

Do CBN gummies work for sleep?

There is no good evidence yet that they do. A narrative review in the journal Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research screened 99 human studies and reviewed eight. It found that clinical research on cannabinol is dated and limited, with most human studies done in the 1970s and 1980s with small samples. It did not identify published trials that measured CBN against validated sleep questionnaires or polysomnography. Its conclusion was that there is insufficient published evidence to support sleep-related claims. It also noted that the doses in products marketed for sleep are typically 5 mg or less, well below what trials would need to test. Source: Corroon, 2021, PubMed 34468204, accessed October 20, 2026.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health adds a wider caution about cannabinoids and sleep. Studies in people with other health problems often show better sleep quality, but it is uncertain whether the product affected sleep directly or whether people slept better because their other symptoms improved. The effect on sleep problems in people without other illnesses is uncertain. Source: NCCIH, accessed October 20, 2026.

Nothing here is a reason to avoid a CBN gummy if you are curious. It is a reason to buy on the label and ask a clinician if sleep is a real problem. The Hub's what is CBN guide covers the basics, and the cannabis for sleep guide covers licensed-store products.

Compare the best CBN sleep products we could verify

Product CBN per serving Other label facts Listed price
25 mg CBN nano tablets, blueberry (Diamond CBD) 25 mg per tablet Chewable or sublingual tablet, not a gummy; no melatonin Check the page
31 mg CBD, CBN and melatonin tablets, lavender berry (Diamond CBD) 3 mg per tablet 25 mg broad spectrum CBD and 3 mg melatonin per tablet; 60 tablets Check the page
cbdMD broad spectrum sleep gummies 20 mg per gummy 25 mg CBD and 5 mg melatonin per gummy; one gummy is a serving $39.99
cbdMD broad spectrum sleep softgels 10 mg per softgel 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG and 3 mg melatonin per softgel $54.99

Row order follows what each partner pays the Hub, highest first. It is a commercial order, not a quality ranking. Neither partner on this list sells a plain CBN gummy that we could confirm, which is why two of the four rows are tablets and one is a softgel. The cbdMD pages showed a "Sold out" label next to at least one option when we checked on October 20, 2026, so confirm stock in the cart. Neither Diamond page states a THC level.

What did each label say?

cbdMD sleep gummies. The page lists 25 mg CBD, 20 mg CBN and 5 mg melatonin in each gummy, plus chamomile and L-theanine. It says one gummy is a serving, calls the gummies vegan and gluten-free, and marks them 21 and older. It describes the product as THC-free, and the page footnote defines that as "below the level of detection using validated scientific methods." The same page also carries a warning that the product may result in a positive drug screen. Those two statements do not contradict each other, because the first is a lab detection limit and the second is a caution. The CBD melatonin gummies guide compares this gummy with cbdMD's plain CBD gummy and softgels in detail, so we will not repeat it here.

cbdMD sleep softgels. The page lists 50 mg CBD, 10 mg CBN, 5 mg CBG and 3 mg melatonin per serving, along with ashwagandha, L-theanine, GABA, valerian root, hops, magnesium, passion flower and lavender. It says "THC-free" and also shows the same drug screen warning.

Diamond CBN tablets. The 25 mg page says each tablet holds 25 mg of cannabinol in a nano-emulsified, chewable or sublingual form, and suggests one tablet or two depending on how deep an evening you want. The lavender berry page lists 25 mg broad spectrum CBD, 3 mg CBN and 3 mg melatonin per tablet, 60 tablets, and suggests starting with one and stepping up to two. Both pages say every batch is third-party lab tested, and neither states a THC level. Ask for the lab report.

CBN vs melatonin: what is the difference?

Melatonin is a hormone your brain makes in response to darkness, and it helps with the timing of your sleep-wake cycle. CBN is a cannabinoid. Many sleep products list both, which is why the label matters more than the word "sleep."

NCCIH says melatonin supplements may help with certain conditions such as jet lag and delayed sleep-wake phase disorder, but that for insomnia in shift workers the evidence was inconclusive. It says short-term use appears safe for most people and that information on long-term safety is lacking. Source: NCCIH melatonin, accessed October 20, 2026. In plain terms, melatonin has a research record for specific timing problems, and CBN does not yet have one for sleep. If a gummy has both, you cannot tell which ingredient did what, and this page will not guess.

CBN vs CBD for sleep: which should you look for?

They are different molecules. CBD is a major cannabinoid of the hemp plant, and CBN forms as THC ages and breaks down, per the Hub's CBN explainer. A gummy that lists CBD alone is not a CBN product, and a gummy that lists both will state each in milligrams.

For sleep, neither has strong clinical evidence in healthy adults. If you are comparing, read three numbers: the CBN in milligrams per gummy, the melatonin in milligrams per gummy, and the CBD in milligrams per gummy. The cbdMD gummy gives all three. Do not assume that a larger CBN number means a better night.

Why are THC and CBN gummies left out?

Many CBN gummies on the market also contain delta-9 THC, and some are sold in Minnesota hemp shops. We checked the Nothing But Canna feed and found THC plus CBN gummies listed at 10 to 15 mg of THC per piece, along with others where the THC per gummy is not stated. Minnesota's hemp edible rule, in Minn. Stat. section 342.01, subdivision 50, limits a non-beverage serving to five milligrams of delta-9 THC and, separately, to no more than 100 milligrams of CBN per serving or container. A gummy that does not state its THC per serving, or states more than five, did not qualify for this page. We found no THC and CBN gummy from Nothing But Canna that we could confirm at 5 mg or less, so none is listed. Accessed October 20, 2026.

If you want a gummy with THC and CBN, a licensed Minnesota dispensary sells them under the adult-use rules at different limits. See the dispensary directory and the cannabis for sleep guide for what stores carry. The Minnesota THC edibles guide explains the two shelves.

Side effects and who should ask a clinician first

The FDA lists drowsiness or sleepiness and diarrhea or decreased appetite among the side effects of CBD, and it warns of liver injury, drug interactions, and a higher risk of sedation when CBD is used with alcohol or other drugs that slow brain activity, including those used for sleep disorders. Source: FDA consumer update on cannabis-derived products, accessed October 20, 2026. NCCIH says melatonin is regulated less strictly than a drug, and that people taking medicine should check with a health care provider first. Together, that is a list of reasons to talk to a pharmacist before you add a gummy to a medicine list, especially if you take other sedating drugs or have a sleep disorder diagnosis.

Do not drive after use. Do not combine a gummy with alcohol. If your job tests for drugs, the broad spectrum label and the "THC-free" wording are not a guarantee of a negative result, and the cbdMD pages say so themselves. The CBD drug test guide explains how to read a certificate of analysis.

What happens to CBN gummies on December 11, 2026?

Unless other federal action occurs, the federal hemp definition changes on December 11, 2026. OCM describes it as products over 0.4 mg of THC per package falling outside the federal definition. A product that is truly below detection for THC is not in that group, which is one more reason to read the lab report rather than the front label. A gummy that includes delta-9 THC at several milligrams per piece would be. The federal hemp changes guide has OCM's September 3, 2026 materials, and the state's lower-potency hemp rules do not change that day.

FAQ

How much CBN is in a typical sleep gummy?

The only gummy we verified lists 20 mg per piece. The 2021 review noted that sleep products have typically carried 5 mg or less, so a label above that is already a high number for this category. More milligrams is not evidence of a better result.

Should you take CBN gummies every night?

We found no source that says whether nightly use is wise or safe over the long term, and NCCIH says long-term melatonin safety information is lacking. If you are leaning on a gummy to sleep every night, that is a conversation for a clinician, because persistent sleeplessness has causes a gummy will not address.

What does THC-free mean on a CBN gummy label?

It is a lab detection claim. The cbdMD footnote defines it as below the level of detection using validated scientific methods. It does not mean zero THC and it does not promise a negative drug test. The batch's certificate of analysis is the document that tells you.

Can a CBN gummy cause a positive drug test?

It can if the product contains THC, which many CBN gummies do. Even a broad spectrum product sold as THC-free carries a drug screen warning on cbdMD's own page. The how long THC stays in your system guide covers detection windows, and nothing on this page is employment advice.

Not sure whether your condition may qualify?

$99 with code MNHUB. Provider certification comes before OCM enrollment review.

Tags:
cbn gummies for sleep
cbn gummy
cbn vs melatonin
cbn vs cbd for sleep
minnesota hemp

Explore Related Topics

Education

Dispensary Directory

Find licensed cannabis dispensaries across Minnesota

Explore Dispensary Directory

Get the Minnesota Cannabis Brief

Dispensary openings, law changes, practical product guides, and worthwhile deals in one useful email.

Free. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Related Articles

  • Menu accuracy

    How we check Minnesota dispensary menus before showing them, which listings have a live menu, and what to confirm before you drive over.

  • Menu price samples

    Cannabis prices taken from Minnesota dispensary menus we checked ourselves, dated and linked to each store. A sample, not a statewide average.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. MN Cannabis Hub may earn a commission from purchases made through these links at no additional cost to you. We only recommend products and services we believe will be helpful to our readers. Read the full policy.

For adults 21 and older. Not medical advice. CBN products have not been shown to treat insomnia or any sleep disorder. Do not drive after use, and ask a clinician before combining a gummy with melatonin, alcohol or other medicines. Product facts were read from the seller pages on October 20, 2026. No detectable THC means a lab did not measure THC above its detection limit, not a promise of zero THC.