CBD Softgels: What the Capsule Label Shows
We earn a commission from partner links.
CBD softgels from cbdMD, checked October 20, 2026: strengths, softgel vs gummy, what 25 mg means, the PM softgel, and what no detectable THC means.
Quick answer
CBD softgels are the capsule version of a CBD oil: a gel shell, an oil fill, and a number on the bottle that is easy to mistake for the number in one capsule. This guide is for adults 21 and older who want the label math. It covers two cbdMD products and nothing from a full spectrum, Delta-9, THCV, or Inferno line.
What do CBD softgels do?
A CBD softgel is a swallowable gel shell filled with CBD oil, so it delivers a pre-measured amount of oil. That is all the label establishes. The FDA has not approved CBD products to treat any condition, and this guide does not claim softgels help with pain, sleep, or anxiety. Compare milligrams, ingredients, and the lab report instead.
Compare CBD softgel and capsule alternatives
| Product | Format | Label facts we checked |
|---|---|---|
| 25 mg CBD isolate tablets, green apple (Diamond CBD, Fresh) | Chewable or sublingual tablet, not a softgel | 25 mg CBD isolate per tablet, 60 count, 1,500 mg total |
| 25 mg broad spectrum CBD tablets, grape (Diamond CBD, Fresh) | Chewable or sublingual tablet | 25 mg broad spectrum CBD per tablet, 60 count |
| cbdMD CBD softgels | Gelatin softgel | 1,500, 3,000, 6,000 mg bottles at $64.99, $84.99, $114.99; no per-capsule amount printed |
| cbdMD PM softgels | Gelatin softgel with melatonin | 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, 10 mg CBN, and 3 mg melatonin per softgel; marked unavailable October 20, 2026 |
Row order follows what each partner pays the Hub, highest first. It is a commercial order, not a quality ranking. Nothing But Canna is not listed because we did not find a reviewed CBD softgel in its catalog. Prices move, so only the cbdMD bottle prices we checked are printed.
What is the difference between a softgel, a capsule, and a gummy?
A softgel is something you swallow. A gummy is also swallowed, but the piece count is the serving on the gummy page. A dropper oil is measured in milliliters. The cbdMD review puts those formats in one table. This page stays on the capsules.
The regular softgel description says you can see the fill through the gel and that the fill is MCT oil plus the seller's Superior Broad Spectrum hemp extract. It lists CBG, CBN, and vitamin E in the marketing lines. The all-ingredients line is hemp extract (cannabidiol, cannabigerol, cannabinol), MCT oil, gelatin, vegetable glycerin, and mixed tocopherols. Gelatin means this is not the vegan gummy. The broad spectrum gummies page says those gummies are vegan and gluten-free, and it does not list melatonin.
The oil alternative on the same brand is the CBD oil tincture. That page also says it is batch-tested for no detectable THC and infused in MCT oil. It is a liquid, not a capsule. Use it when you want a dropper. Use a softgel when you want a pre-measured shell. Neither choice is a medical recommendation.
| Format | What the product pages show | Serving unit |
|---|---|---|
| Softgel | cbdMD: gelatin shell around MCT oil and broad spectrum hemp extract | One softgel, but the regular page does not state its milligrams |
| Capsule | cbdMD's URL says "capsules-softgels" for the same product. We found no separate hard-shell capsule on the pages we checked. | Same as the softgel |
| Gummy | cbdMD gummies are vegan and gluten-free. Diamond's Chill gummies list milligrams per piece. | One gummy, with milligrams stated per piece or per serving |
| Tablet | Diamond's Fresh tablets are chewable or sublingual | One tablet, 25 mg on the pages above |
How many milligrams are in one CBD softgel?
| Question | Regular softgels | PM softgels |
|---|---|---|
| URL this page links | CBD oil capsules | PM softgel capsules |
| Strengths listed | 1,500 mg, 3,000 mg, 6,000 mg | 1,500 mg |
| Listed price | $64.99, $84.99, $114.99 | $54.99 |
| Availability that day | All three marked available | Marked unavailable |
| Melatonin | Not listed | 3 mg per softgel, in the product description |
| Other cannabinoids the description names | CBG and CBN, without a per-capsule milligram | 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, and 10 mg CBN per softgel, plus 3 mg melatonin |
| Shell | Gelatin is in the ingredient list | Gelatin is in the ingredient list |
| THC line on the page | Batch-tested for no detectable THC, plus the 0.3% delta-9 dry-weight warning | The description says the formula is broad spectrum. It does not use the "batch-tested" sentence the regular softgel uses. |
The regular softgel page does not state how many capsules are in a bottle or how many milligrams are in one capsule. A 6,000 mg bottle is not a 6,000 mg serving. This guide will not divide 6,000 by a count the page did not print.
The PM description is more specific about one softgel: 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, 10 mg CBN, and 3 mg melatonin. It also lists ashwagandha (spelled "Ashwaghanda" on the page), L-theanine, GABA, chamomile, valerian root (spelled "Valarian Root"), magnesium, and other botanicals. Those spellings are the label's, left as printed. The page says adult use only and not for sale to anyone under 21. It also says the product may cause drowsiness and not to drive after using it. That is a warning, not a sleep study.
Source: cbdMD product feed for the regular softgels, October 20, 2026. Unit: US dollars for the listed bottle strength, before any coupon. The 1,500 mg PM softgel is a different URL and was marked unavailable the same day. Prices change.
What does a 25 mg CBD softgel mean?
cbdMD's regular softgel page does not print a per-capsule amount, so we cannot say any cbdMD softgel is 25 mg. The 25 mg pieces we did check are Diamond's tablets above and cbdMD's sleep gummy, which lists 25 mg CBD, 20 mg CBN, and 5 mg melatonin per gummy. A 25 mg figure is a label fact for one piece. It is not a recommended amount, and a 25 mg gummy is a different product from a 25 mg softgel.
Which CBD softgels are best for sleep?
The only softgel in this guide built around a sleep formula is the cbdMD PM softgel, which lists 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, 10 mg CBN, and 3 mg melatonin per softgel. It was marked unavailable on October 20, 2026. This guide does not rank it as the best for sleep, because a label is not a sleep result. The page also says it may cause drowsiness and not to drive after using it. For the gummy and softgel comparison, read CBD melatonin gummies. For cannabis at licensed stores, which includes THC, see cannabis for sleep in Minnesota. What CBN is explains the cannabinol on the PM label.
What happens if you take CBD softgels every day?
The FDA says the effects of daily CBD use over weeks or months are not well understood. Its consumer update lists liver injury, interactions with other drugs, and increased drowsiness when CBD is combined with alcohol or other sedating drugs. Side effects it names include drowsiness, diarrhea or decreased appetite, and changes in mood such as irritability. Talk to a clinician if you take other medications. Source: FDA consumer update on cannabis-derived products, accessed October 20, 2026.
Gelatin, vitamin E, and the oil fill
MCT oil is the carrier in the regular softgel and in the plain tincture. The softgel page calls vitamin E an antioxidant and lists mixed tocopherols. It also says there are no artificial flavors or dyes in that formula. None of that is a reason to take a capsule. It is a way to compare this bottle with a gummy that uses pectin or corn syrup instead of gelatin. The calming gummy on the same site lists corn syrup and, in the ingredient line, full spectrum hemp extract. This guide does not link that gummy. The sleep gummy comparison is the page that separates melatonin gummies from CBD-only gummies.
The regular softgel page says products at 6,000 mg may taste more bitter because of the hemp extract. A softgel you swallow may still break open. If you need a flavor note, that sentence is the one the seller printed. It is not a quality score.
The same page says buyers must be 18 or older in one warning and the site footer, on pages checked the same day, says the product is not for anyone under 21. Follow the stricter line. This Hub page is written for adults 21 and older.
No detectable THC, and the other THC sentences
The regular softgel description says the batch is tested to ensure no detectable THC. The site footnote defines the seller's THC-free asterisk as below the level of detection using validated scientific methods. The same description then says state law requires a warning that the product can expose you to chemicals including THC, and that total delta-9 does not exceed 0.3% on a dry weight basis.
Keep those sentences in the order the label gives them. "Below detection" is a lab result against a limit. The 0.3% line is a dry-weight percentage. Neither sentence is the federal finished-product line.
That federal line is December 11, 2026. The federal hemp changes guide follows Office of Cannabis Management materials: a final hemp product with more than 0.4 mg total THC per container is outside the new federal definition, unless other federal action changes the date. Minnesota's lower-potency hemp edible statute does not flip that day. Section 342.01, subdivision 50, as the same guide cites from the Revisor, includes a non-beverage path of no more than 5 mg delta-9 THC per serving. A softgel marketed around no detectable THC is trying to stay under THC caps that use different units. Only the certificate of analysis for the lot in your hand can speak to that lot.
The PM page's description leans on "THC-free" in the marketing voice and does not repeat the "batch-tested for no detectable THC" sentence. Do not upgrade the PM bottle to a test result the PM text did not state. Open the lab file.
What this page will not claim
The seller's softgel copy talks about daily routines, wellness, and, on the PM page, restful nights. This guide does not. Capsules are not FDA-approved treatments for pain, sleep, anxiety, or any other condition. The CBD for anxiety article is a separate page with its own sources. Do not read a softgel milligram as the dose in a clinical paper. Most of those papers, where they exist, are not studies of this bottle.
The seller suggests starting with one softgel in the morning and one in the evening for about 30 days, then adjusting. That is retailer advice on the regular softgel page. It is not a Hub schedule. The PM page says take one about an hour before bed. Same rule: their sentence, not a prescription. Talk to a clinician if you take other medications. The PM warning says not to combine the product with alcohol or medication. Read that warning on the bottle you receive, because sellers edit pages.
Price, coupon, and shipping
The three regular softgel prices above are feed prices before a coupon. The partnership terms supplied to the Hub include a 15% off coupon and say shipping is US only. No code was printed on the softgel page, so this guide does not print one. A 15% markdown on $64.99 is arithmetic this page will not present as a checkout total. Tax, shipping, and the coupon either apply in the cart or they do not.
The gummy pages displayed free shipping on orders of $60 or more. The softgel feed did not need that line for this guide to be accurate, and this guide does not copy a shipping offer from a different product onto the capsule. Check the softgel cart.
How a Minnesota shopper should use the number
If you also shop licensed stores, keep the channels apart. A softgel from an online hemp catalog is not the same object as a capsule on a dispensary menu. The dispensary directory is the directory for licensed retailers. The cannabis tax breakdown is about the state cannabis excise, not a receipt from this website.
Pet capsules are not this product. The Paw CBD guide covers dog and cat oils and dog chews. Do not empty a human softgel onto food for an animal. The FDA has not approved CBD for use in animals, which is the standard the dog oil checklist already uses.
If you want CBN context because the PM softgel lists 10 mg of it, read what CBN is and then come back to the milligram on this label. A minor cannabinoid on an ingredient list is not evidence that the capsule will change your sleep.
FAQ
How many CBD milligrams are in one cbdMD softgel?
The regular softgel page lists 1,500 mg, 3,000 mg, and 6,000 mg as bottle strengths and does not state a per-capsule amount or a capsule count. The PM page does state per-softgel figures: 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, 10 mg CBN, and 3 mg melatonin. Use the page that matches the bottle.
Are these CBD softgels vegan?
The regular softgel ingredient list includes gelatin. The PM ingredient list also includes gelatin. The broad spectrum gummy page says those gummies are vegan. A vegan gummy is not this capsule.
What is the PM softgel and is it in stock?
It is a gelatin softgel that lists 50 mg CBD, 5 mg CBG, 10 mg CBN, and 3 mg melatonin per softgel, plus botanicals such as chamomile and valerian root. The 1,500 mg variant was marked unavailable in the product feed on October 20, 2026. For melatonin comparisons across cbdMD products, see the CBD melatonin gummies guide.
Which THC lines does the softgel page print?
The regular page says the batch is tested for no detectable THC, defines the THC-free asterisk as below the lab's detection limit, and prints a 0.3% delta-9 dry-weight line. December 11, 2026 is a separate 0.4 mg per container federal line. The cbdMD review explains why those are three different statements.
Buying regularly? Compare adult-use and medical costs
$99 with code MNHUB. Provider certification comes before OCM enrollment review.
Explore Related Topics
Education
Cannabis education, strain guides, and safety information
Explore EducationMedical Marijuana
Guide to Minnesota's medical cannabis program
Explore Medical MarijuanaDispensary Directory
Find licensed cannabis dispensaries across Minnesota
Explore Dispensary DirectoryGet the Minnesota Cannabis Brief
Dispensary openings, law changes, practical product guides, and worthwhile deals in one useful email.
Free. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related Articles
Related research
- Menu accuracy
How we check Minnesota dispensary menus before showing them, which listings have a live menu, and what to confirm before you drive over.
- Menu price samples
Cannabis prices taken from Minnesota dispensary menus we checked ourselves, dated and linked to each store. A sample, not a statewide average.
Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. MN Cannabis Hub may earn a commission from purchases made through these links at no additional cost to you. We only recommend products and services we believe will be helpful to our readers. Read the full policy.
For adults 21 and older. Not medical, legal, or veterinary advice. No detectable THC means a lab did not measure THC above its detection limit, not a promise of zero THC.
